Proposed Eight-Hour Ozone Maintenance Plans/ State Implementation Plan Revisions for Columbia, Crawford, Juniata, Lawrence, Northumberland, Pike, Schuylkill, Snyder, Somerset, Susquehanna, Warren, and Wayne Counties

Ground-level ozone concentrations pose a serious human health threat and can also cause damage to crops, forests, and wildlife. On April 30, 2004, the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) designated nonattainment areas and classified areas nationwide for the 8-hour ozone national ambient air quality standard, 0.08 parts per million. (69 FR 23858). EPA also designated Columbia, Crawford, Juniata, Lawrence, Northumberland, Pike, Schuylkill, Snyder, Somerset, Susquehanna, Warren and Counties as eight-hour ozone "unclassifiable/ attainment" areas. (69 FR 23932). Therefore, maintenance plans consistent with the requirements of Section 110(a)(1) of the Clean Air Act (CAA) must be developed and submitted to EPA for approval as a revision to the State Implementation Plan (SIP).

Under Section 110 (a) (1) of the CAA and EPA's Phase I Implementation Rule, the Pennsylvania Department of Environmental Protection (DEP) is obligated to develop eight-hour ozone maintenance plans for the counties mentioned above because one-hour ozone redesignation requests and maintenance plans for these counties, previously designed nonattainment areas, were not submitted to EPA and approved prior to the revocation of the one hour ozone standard in June 2005. DEP is seeking comment on 12 separate eight-hour ozone maintenance plans and 2002 base-year inventories that will be submitted to EPA as revisions to the State Implementation Plan (SIP). The plans must provide for continued attainment for at least 10 years and include control measures relied upon for maintaining the standard, contingency measures for the prompt correction of any violation of the standard, continued operation of the ambient air quality monitoring network and a means for tracking the progress of the plan.

The proposed SIP revisions are available on DEP's Web site at www.depweb.state.pa.us (choose "Air Plans") or through the contact persons listed below. Copies of the SIP revisions may also be reviewed at the following DEP Regional Offices: Southwest Regional Office in Pittsburgh; Southcentral Regional Office in Harrisburg; Northcentral Regional Office in Williamsport; Northwest Regional Office in Erie; and Northeast Regional Office in Wilkes-Barre.

DEP will hold a public hearing to receive comments on the proposed SIP revisions on Tuesday, November 13, 2007, at 1 p.m. at the DEP Southcentral Regional Office, 909 Elmerton Avenue, Harrisburg, PA 17110. Persons wishing to present testimony at the hearing should contact Yvette House, P.O. Box 8468, Harrisburg, PA 17105, (717) 787-9495, or yhouse@state.pa.us to reserve a time. Persons who do not reserve a time will be able to testify as time allows. Witnesses should keep testimony to stat minutes and should provide two written copies of their statement at the hearing.

Persons with a disability who wish to attend the hearing and require an auxiliary aid, service, or other accommodation to participate in the proceeding should contact Yvette House at yhouse@state.pa.us or (717) 787-9495. TDD users may contact the AT&T Relay Service at (800) 654-5984 to discuss how DEP can best accommodate their needs.

DEP must receive comments no later than November 16, 2007. Written comments should be sent to the attention of Arleen Shulman, Division of Air Resource Management, Bureau of Air Quality, P.O. Box 8468, Harrisburg, PA 17105-8468, or ashulman@state.pa.us.

KATHLEEN A. McGINTY, Secretary