DEP has submitted a revision to the State Implementation Plan (SIP) for the Southeastern Pennsylvania area included in the Philadelphia-Wilmington-Atlantic City, PA-DE-MD-NJ eight-hour Ozone Nonattainment Area (Philadelphia Nonattainment Area). The Pennsylvania portion of this "moderate" eight-hour ozone nonattainment area consists of Bucks, Chester, Delaware, Montgomery and Philadelphia counties.

The SIP revision demonstrates how the area will attain the health-based eight-hour ozone NAAQS by June 2010 by presenting evidence from photochemical modeling, ozone trends and regional transport impacts. The plan demonstrates how the area will meet 2008 and 2009 reasonable further progress milestones for emission reductions through state and federal control measures. It also contains the base year 2002 emissions inventory, a reasonably available control measure analysis, a contingency plan to bring the area back into attainment should violations of the NAAQS occur after the standard is attained, and mobile source emission budgets for purposes of transportation conformity.

Appendices to all documents are available upon request by contacting the division staff at 717-787-9495.