

PA Sunshine Program Consumer Protection Notice

- In order to qualify for a PA Sunshine rebate, all solar systems must be installed by a Pennsylvania Department of Environmental Protection (DEP) approved installer.
- Beginning July 1, 2009, all contractors approved to do solar installation will be required to possess a
 Pennsylvania contractor license. While DEP has pre-screened all installers, DEP recommends that the
 consumer always ask to see a copy of the license for verification.
- DEP recommends that all consumers carefully interview several installers before signing any contracts. Even though DEP has approved every installer participating in this program, DEP recommends that consumers receive at least three bids and check references before signing any contracts.
- DEP recommends that all consumers receive multiple quotes before committing to a solar electric (PV) installer. When receiving quotes, a consumer should ask the installer to provide the system cost on a \$/Watt basis. DEP posts monthly PV costs on a \$/Watt online at www.depweb.state.pa.us/pasunshine. If the consumer's PV quotes greatly exceed the median bid currently posted online, request a reason for the high cost. Some valid reasons for high quotes could include: the system will include a battery storage system or the consumer has requested a specialized building integrated solar material (such as solar shingles, etc.).
- When you receive a quote for a solar hot water system, analyze the details. If the price quoted greatly exceeds \$6,000-\$10,000, request a detailed explanation. Systems used to heat a swimming pool, hot tub or space heat the home are not eligible for this rebate program.
- Be aware that as a requirement of the PA Sunshine Program, DEP requires that all rebate applicants provide a minimum \$250 installer deposit before applying for a rebate.
- Consumers should insist on a written contract and carefully review all conditions before signing the final contract.
- Save the final payment until the system has satisfactorily met all final inspections required by the local government.
- Applicants must not have any delinquent obligations to the commonwealth, including but not limited to delinquent taxes.
- Pennsylvania law requires that a percentage of electricity sold to retail customers in the commonwealth is from solar energy sources. Your solar electric system produces a Solar Renewable Energy Credit (SREC) each time you produce 1,000 kWh of electricity. The SREC can then be sold or traded separately from the power. In other words, credits are worth money! If you participate in the Pennsylvania Sunshine Program, it is likely that your system will generate SRECs. You must either register your system with the Pennsylvania Alternative Energy Portfolio Standard (AEPS) Administrator to start earning credits or have another party resell for you. For more information about system registration and current SREC values, please log onto www.paaeps.com.
- If you have installer complaints, please contact DEP at 717-783-8411 or e-mail pasunshine@state.pa.us.
- If you encounter a severe conflict with an installer that you are unable to resolve, the Attorney General's
 office may be contacted online at www.attorneygeneral.gov or in writing to:

Office of Attorney General Bureau of Consumer Protection 14th Floor, Strawberry Square Harrisburg, PA 17120

For more information, visit www.depweb.state.pa.us/pasunshine.

