Minutes of the July 23, 2020 Meeting Small Water Systems Technical Assistance Center (TAC) Advisory Board

A virtual, regular meeting of the TAC Board was called to order by Chairperson Serena DiMagno at approximately 9:05 AM. The purpose of the meeting was to hold the election for the Chairperson and Vice-chairs and to review and discuss the TAC Bylaws and pre-draft technical guidance documents.

The following Board members were present:

Amy Batdorf, Pennsylvania Municipal Authorities Association (PMAA)

Doug Crawshaw, American Water Works Association (AWWA)

Serena DiMagno, Water Works Operators Association of Pennsylvania (WWOAP)

Roger Hadsall, Pennsylvania Rural Water Association (PRWA)

Christine Hoover, Office of Consumer Advocate (OCA) - via Skype

Dr. Kyle Kopko, Center for Rural Pennsylvania (CRP)

Clint McKinley, Pennsylvania Public Utility Commission (PUC)

Mary Roland, State Board for Certification of Sewage Treatment Plant & Waterworks Operators (SBCSTPWWO)

Mike Sienkiewicz, Pennsylvania Manufactured Housing Association (PMHA)

Sukhwindar Singh, RCAP Solutions

James Steele, Pennsylvania Builders Association (PBA)

Judith Tutino, Rural Utilities Service/Rural Development (RUS)

The following Alternate members were present:

Chip Bilger, Water Works Operators Association of Pennsylvania (WWOAP)

Jennifer Case, Pennsylvania Municipal Authorities Association (PMAA)

Lisa Daniels, Pennsylvania Department of Environmental Protection (DEP)

Sharon Fillmann, American Water Works Association (AWWA)

Joel Jordan, Pennsylvania Rural Water Association (PRWA)

Seth Loht, RCAP Solutions

Tesra Schlupp, Pennsylvania Infrastructure Investment Authority (PIIA)

The following Organizations were not represented:

County Commissioners Association of Pennsylvania (CCAP)

Department Community and Economic Development (DCED)

League of Women Voters, Pennsylvania (LWVPa)

Pennsylvania Association of Conservation Districts, Inc. (PACD)

Pennsylvania Association of Realtors (PAR)

Pennsylvania State Association of Township Supervisors (PSATS)

Members/alternates from 14 organizations were present; therefore, a quorum was achieved.

The following Department of Environmental Protection (DEP) staff were present:

Jeff Allgyer, Bureau of Safe Drinking Water Angela Anderson, Bureau of Safe Drinking Water Jill Anderson, Bureau of Safe Drinking Water Kevin Anderson, Bureau of Safe Drinking Water Larry DeAngelo, Bureau of Safe Drinking Water Joy Groch, Bureau of Safe Drinking Water Sabrina Haydt, Bureau of Safe Drinking Water Dawn Hissner, Bureau of Safe Drinking Water Jason Minnich, Bureau of Safe Drinking Water G. Carl Muller, Bureau of Safe Drinking Water Pauline Risser Bureau of Safe Drinking Water Kim Snook, Bureau of Safe Drinking Water Brian Chalfant, Policy Office

Non-Members present at the meeting:

Jeff Bickel, Aqua PA

Alison Aminco, Philadelphia Water Department (PWD)

Rita Kopansky, Philadelphia Water Department (PWD)

Erik Ross, Milliron & Goodman Gov't Relations, LLC

Dennis O'Connor, Philadelphia Water Department (PWD)

General Advisory Board business:

Three items of general business were discussed:

- The draft minutes from the February 26, 2020 TAC Board meeting were presented for discussion. No edits were requested. Jim Steele (PBA) made a motion to approve the Feb 26, 2020 minutes; Mary Roland (SBCSTPWWO) seconded the motion. The motion passed by a unanimous vote.
- Elections for Chairperson & Vice-Chairperson:
 - The nomination committee put forward Serena DiMagno as the nominee for Chairperson and Mary Roland as the nominee for Vice-Chairperson; there were no other nominees and there was no additional discussion.
 - o Both Serena and Mary accepted the nomination and the nominees for Chairperson and Vice-Chairperson were each approved by a unanimous vote (Serena and Mary each abstained from the vote).
- Review of TAC Board Bylaws
 - Serena DiMagno (WWOAP) made a motion that was seconded by Mary Roland (SBCSTPWWO)
 - "A special committee should be formed to review the structure of the TAC Board and propose changes to the membership and Bylaws."
 - The discussion focused on the DRAFT edits for discussion proposed by DEP (as requested by the members at the November 2019 meeting) and that some members were not aware of the purpose and intent of the proposed revisions.
 - ✓ Several of the objectives of the TAC Board identified in the statute are no longer relevant.
 - ✓ Options discussed to make the Board relevant and inclusive of all types of public water systems: changing the name, adding a few additional member organizations (such as: PA Dept of Health, Water Quality Association, organizations that represent noncommunity water systems, a large public water system or technical expertise organizations). These options would require changes to the Bylaws or amending the statute.

- The motion passed by a unanimous vote.
- The subcommittee volunteers are: Chip Bilger (WWOAP), Serena DiMagno (WWOAP), Sharon Fillmann (AWWA), Mary Gaiski (PMHA), Christine Hoover (OCA), Joel Jordan (PRWA), and DEP (either Lisa Daniels or Brian Chalfant).

Discussion - TGD 1, One Hour Reporting Guidance

- TAC requested clarification on:
 - o The Filter Backwash Recycling Rule (FBRR).
 - o The differences between notification requirements for an accredited laboratory vs. a PWS.
 - o Whether exceeding the MRDL level of 4.0 for chlorine at the EP requires notification because many larger PWSs maintain a residual close to 4.0 at their EP.
- TAC also requested additional examples be added.

Discussion - TGD 2, PA's Capability Enhancement Strategy

TAC requested that DEP:

- Add information about the USDA tool (include it as a new bullet item)
- Include other resources (add a table in the document and/or update the DEP webpage)
- Include references to other organizations

Discussion - DWELR Revisions

DEP will be revising the Drinking Water Electronic Reporting System to remain consistent with upgrades being made to the Green Port platform. The SDW data management staff are requesting that users of DWELR submit comments for what is and/or is not working well with the current system (what should be dropped, what should be changed and what should be added). Comments should be submitted to EP, PADWIS (ra-padwis@pa.gov).

Public Comments:

There were no public comments.

Adjourn

Jim Steele made a motion to adjourn. The motion passed by a unanimous vote.