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Executive Summary 
25 Pa. Code Chapters 218 and 240 

Radiological Health and Radon Certification Fees; and 

Pennsylvania Radon Mitigation System Fee  

The Department of Environmental Protection (Department) recommends amendments to Chapter 

218 (relating to fees) and Chapter 240 (relating to radon certification) for consideration by the 

Environmental Quality Board (Board).   

 

Summary of the Final Rulemaking 

The final rulemaking will revise fees associated with the licensing and certification activities 

regulated by the Department’s Radiation Protection Program. The Radiation Protection Act 

(RPA), 35 P.S. §§ 7110.101-7110.703, requires the Board to establish fees in amounts at least 

sufficient to cover the costs of the radiation protection programs mandated by the RPA. The 

Radon Certification Act (RCA), 63 P.S. §§ 2001-2014, requires the Department to establish fees 

to cover the costs of the certification programs established by the RCA. The final rulemaking 

will add a $50 fee for each active radon mitigation system that is installed or passive radon 

mitigation system that is converted to an active radon mitigation system in the Commonwealth. 

This is a change from the proposed rulemaking’s requirement that implemented this $50 fee 

through the use of a Pennsylvania Radon Mitigation System Tag. This change was made based 

on comments received during the public comment period.    

 

Purpose of the Final Rulemaking 

With two exceptions, the final rulemaking will increase the Chapter 218 and 240 fees by 50 

percent to meet RPA and RCA requirements to adequately fund the licensing and inspection of 

radioactive materials and the certification of individuals who perform radon-related activities. 

One exception is for license category 2A(2)(c) – Source Material – Metal Extraction, which is 

proposed to be reduced by 50 percent.  No one is currently licensed in the Commonwealth of 

Pennsylvania in the Source Material category. The second exception is for category 7B—Human 

Use—Broad Scope (except Teletherapy). Based on feedback from the Radiation Protection 

Advisory Committee (RPAC), this fee category will only be increased by 25 percent to avoid 

licensees in this category from “downgrading” their licenses and placing additional 

administrative burdens on the Department. 

 

Despite substantial increases in personnel and program costs, the Chapter 218 fees, which 

support the licensing and inspection of radioactive materials, and the Chapter 240 radon fees 

have not been revised since 2009. As a result, the Radiation Protection Fund is decreasing 

annually in operating reserves. Without a fee increase, the Department will be unable to purchase 

necessary equipment , unable to fund infrastructure upgrades, and unable to train and hire  

qualified personnel in Fiscal Year 2018/2019.     
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Affected Parties 

All Pennsylvania radioactive material licensees and radon testers and mitigators will be required 

to comply with this final rulemaking. The Department regulates approximately 850 specific and 

general licensees and approximately 720 radon certificate holders. 

  

Advisory Groups 

The Department presented the final Annex A to the RPAC on November 17, 2016, for 

discussion. At that meeting, RPAC endorsed moving forward with the final rulemaking.   

 

Public Comments  

The proposed rulemaking was approved by the EQB on April 19, 2016, and published in the  

Pennsylvania Bulletin on July 2, 2016, with a 60-day public comment period. No public  

meetings or hearings were held. The EQB received comments from 40 commentators during the 

public comment period and from the Independent Regulatory Review Commission. These comments  

were considered and are addressed in the comment and response document that accompanies this  

final rulemaking. 


