Solid Waste Advisory Committee Meeting Minutes of October 9, 2024

The following members were present:

John Frederick, Chair Michele Nestor, Vice Chair Gordon Burgoyne Jay Enoch Brian Guzzone Jason Leck Gregg Pearson Joe Reinhart Shannon Reiter Kyle Rosato Joanne Shafer Bob Watts Gerald Zona

The following members were absent:

Eli Brill Frank Mazza Ed Vogel James Welty

The following alternates were present:

Liz Bertha (on behalf of Ed Vogel) David Buzzell (on behalf of Eli Brill)

The following guests and Department of Environmental Protection (DEP) staff were present:

Jim Barnhart	PA League of Women Voters Environmental Committee
Terry Beck	no affiliation
Kevin Beer	DEP Bureau of Waste Management (BWM)
Craig Benson	Public
Jodi Brennan	Clearfield County Planning and Solid Waste Authority
Bob Bylone	Pennsylvania Recycling Markets Center (PennRMC)
Laura Campbell	DEP Policy Office
Donna Cooper	Children First
Megan Dennis	Pennsylvania Aggregates and Concrete Association (PACA)
Meghan Fogarty	Burlington Stores, Inc.
Nikolina Gaudin	DEP Bureau of Regulatory Counsel (BRC)

Sean Gimbel Laura Henry	DEP Office of Waste, Air, Radiation and Remediations (WARR) DEP BWM/Committee Liaison
Crystal Heshmat	DEP BWM
Lawrence Holley	DEP BWM DA Hauss Fasilian montal Decourses and Fasilian Committee
Glendon King Jim Lambert	PA House Environmental Resources and Energy Committee
	Monroe County Solid Waste Authority
Patti Lynn Trout Mashamar	Chester County Solid Waste Authority
Trent Machamer	PA Senate Policy Office
C. Conrad Martin	no affiliation
Josephine Martin	Management for Sustainability, LLC
Amy Mazzella di Bosco	Greater Lebanon Refuse Authority (GLRA)/Professional Recyclers
	of Pennsylvania (PROP)
Tom Mellott	DEP BWM
Waleria Melo de Mendonca	DEP BWM
Josh Neyhart	DEP Policy Office
Matt Osenbach	Senator Yaw's Office
Tiffany Piaskowski	DEP BWM/Acting Recording Secretary
Robert "Bo" Reiley	DEP BRC
Jennie Shade	Department of Conservation and Natural Resources (DCNR)
Sarah Alessio Shea	Pennsylvania Resources Council (PRC)
Jennifer Summers	PROP
Lucas Swanger	DEP BWM
Mark Vottero	DEP BWM

Call to Order; Introduction of Members and Guests; Approval of Minutes of June 26, 2024, Meeting; Old Business

Chair Frederick called the meeting to order at 10:09 a.m. Laura Henry conducted roll call. Chair Frederick called for a motion to approve the minutes from the June 26, 2024, meeting. The motion was moved by Joanne Shafer, seconded by Shannon Reiter. Chair Frederick called for a revision to be made on page 5 paragraph 4 under the Lithium-Ion Battery Management Update. Call2Recycle should be referred to as less affordable rather than more affordable. All approved, none opposed, and the motion carried. No old business was discussed.

Public Comments

Ms. Henry reviewed new procedures put in place by the DEP Policy Office for providing public comment at meetings. No public comments were presented or made for discussion.

Discussion Item: Draft Revised Technical Guidance Document (TGD), "Guidance on the Chemical Analysis for Form 26R"

Kevin Beer, Division of Municipal and Residual Waste, DEP BWM, presented the TGD for discussion. Updates have not been made to this TGD since 1993. No significant changes were made to the content. The purpose of the TGD is to address how the chemical analysis

requirement is met on Form 26R and to address the availability of waivers for chemical analysis on an annual basis. Language was added to the beginning of the document for clarification. Additional reference was added about the Form U and Hazardous Waste Determination which was not included in the original document.

Members had no questions or comments on the TGD.

Discussion Item: Draft Revised Technical Guidance Document (TGD), "Process for Evaluating Daily Volume"

Crystal Heshmat, Division of Municipal and Residual Waste, DEP BWM, presented the TGD for discussion. The last update made to the document were effective in February 1997. Most of the changes for the current revision were related to formatting and updates to reflect current practices. The most noteworthy change is clarification that DEP staff have flexibility in responding to requests to evaluate or modify daily volume limits within regulatory limitations. This change resulted in replacing the language on Page 1 in the Daily Volumes and Existing Permits section (second paragraph) that reads "at a frequency not to exceed 5 years" to "when or if any concerns are identified by the public or DEP staff, DEP may evaluate existing facilities to determine whether the daily waste volumes authorized in the permits are contributing to public health or safety hazards, public nuisances, or other threats or problems to the environment."

David Buzzell asked if there was anything that prompted the revision of the 5-year language. Mr. Beer responded that the input received from the regions in development of the revisions was that the current practice of evaluation is on an as needed basis, so the language was revised to reflect that. Mr. Buzzell suggested changing the language from "will" to "may."

Jason Leck expressed concern that changes to this document could impact how other major modifications to permits are evaluated; in particular, those requiring a traffic impact study. Mr. Beer reiterated that DEP's intent was to more accurately reflect current practices for evaluating daily volume, and that the discussion and suggestions would be taken into consideration.

Discussion Item: Draft Revised Technical Guidance Document (TGD), "Leak Detection Tests for Installed Liners"

Ms. Heshmat presented an overview of the TGD for discussion. The document was last updated May 1990. Most of the changes were formatting changes.

Members had no questions or comments on the TGD.

New Business

No new business was discussed.

Laura Henry mentioned she will be looking at meeting dates for 2025. The schedule may be impacted by renovations to the Rachel Carson building. She also reminded that committee members' 2-year appointment terms are ending. Waleria Melo de Mendonca will be assisting with the appointment/reappointment process. Officer elections will also be held at the first meeting in 2025, and she called on Chair Frederick to form a Nominations Committee.

Chair Frederick called for a motion to adjourn. The motion was made by Jason Leck, seconded by Shannon Reiter. All approved, none opposed; the motion carried, and the meeting adjourned at 10:40 a.m.