

Citizens Advisory Council

to the Department of Environmental Protection P.O. Box 8459 • Rachel Carson State Office Building

Harrisburg, PA 17105-8459 • 717-787-8171 • Fax 717-705-4980

April 20, 2021

Dear Secretary McDonnell:

On behalf of the Citizens Advisory Council (CAC) to the Department of Environmental Protection (DEP), I am writing to express CAC's concerns regarding the implementation of the amendments to the Sewage Facilities Act (SFA) contained in Act 34 of 2020. Although CAC has discussed the need to update the Commonwealth's approach to sewage facility planning and regulation in our last two transition reports, CAC would like to address this specific issue here.

In a recent letter to Sewage Enforcement Officers, DEP stated that despite the intent of Act 34 "to expand the use of alternate systems to allow for development of lots that are currently unavailable for new land development," "other provisions of the SFA and the Clean Streams Law also require DEP to ensure that sewage plans and treatment technologies protect public health and the environment." The letter continues to state that "DEP is working on additional guidance to address specific items associated with the implementation of the SFA as amended by Act 34 of 2020."

While it is understandable that implementation of new legislation requires a transition period, we urge you to work with the Sewage Advisory Committee, the regulated community, and other stakeholders to quickly identify and address the statutory and regulatory impediments to the implementation of Act 34 as intended.

The use of alternative on-lot sewage technologies in the Commonwealth has been an unresolved issue for many years. CAC hopes that a consensus can be reached between DEP and all stakeholders in a timely manner so the Commonwealth can move forward with new land development and the preservation of prime agricultural land as intended by Act 34. CAC is happy to help in any way we can, so please contact our Executive Director, Keith J. Salador, by phone at 717-787-8171 or by email at <u>ksalador@pa.gov</u> if we can be of any assistance.

Sincerely,

Jerome Shabazz Chair

Allegheny County Cynthia Carrow John J. Walliser, Esq

Bedford County William Fink

Cumberland County Duane Mowery Trisha L.R. Salvia, Esq. James Welty R. Timothy Weston, Esq

Delaware County James A. Schmid

Greene County Lori Dayton

Indiana County John St. Clair

Lehigh County Robert J. Barkanic

Luzerne County Jacquelyn Bonomo

Philadelphia County Dr. Jamie Green David Dunphy Jerome Shabazz

Tioga County Thaddeus K. Stevens

York County Rev. Mitchell C. Hescox