
Page 1 of 11 

FINAL-FORM RULEMAKING 

ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY BOARD 

[25 Pa. Code, Chapter 218] 

 

Radiological Health Fees 

 

 The Environmental Quality Board (Board) amends Chapter 218 (relating to fees).  This final-

form rulemaking amends the annual fees for radiation-producing machine registrations, vendor 

registrations, accelerator licenses, radioactive material licenses, and the professional hourly rate. 

 This final-form rulemaking was adopted by the Board at its meeting of DATE. 

A. Effective Date 

 This final-form rulemaking will be effective 30 days after publication in the Pennsylvania 

Bulletin. 

B. Contact Persons 

 For further information contact John Chippo, Chief, Division of Radiation Control, P.O. Box 

8469, Rachel Carson State Office Building, Harrisburg, PA 17105-8469, (717) 783-9730, or 

Nicholas Pistory, Assistant Counsel, Bureau of Regulatory Counsel, P.O. Box 8464, Rachel 

Carson State Office Building, Harrisburg, PA 17105-8464, (717) 787-9372.  Persons with a 

disability may use the Pennsylvania Hamilton Relay Service, (800) 654-5984 (TDD users) or 

(800) 654-5988 (voice users).  This final-form rulemaking is available on the Department of 

Environmental Protection’s (Department) web site at www.dep.pa.gov (select “Public 

Participation,” then “Environmental Quality Board” and then navigate to the Board meeting of 

DATE). 

C. Statutory Authority 

 This final-form rulemaking is authorized under sections 301, 302, and 401 of the Radiation 

Protection Act (RPA) (35 P.S. §§ 7110.301, 7110.302 and 7110.401), which direct the Board and 

the Department of Environmental Protection (Department) to establish fees in amounts at least 

sufficient to cover the costs of the radiation protection programs mandated by the RPA and 

review of those fees every three years, and under section 1920-A of the Administrative Code (71 

P.S. § 510-20), which directs the Board to formulate, adopt and promulgate such rules and 

regulations as may be determined by the board for the proper performance of the work of the 

Department. 

D. Background and Purpose 

 The Department's Radiation Protection Program (RPP) was established to carry out the 

comprehensive program of radiation protection in this Commonwealth as required by the RPA 

(35 P.S. §§ 7110.101—7110.703).  Section 401 of the RPA and section 8 of the Radon 

Certification Act (63 P.S. § 2008) require that fees be established to cover the Department's RPP 

costs.  Section 302(b) of the RPA (35 P.S. § 7110.302(b)) requires the Board to review the 

radiation protection fee structure every 3 years. 
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 On February 15, 2022, the Department presented its Three-Year Regulatory Fee and Program 

Cost Analysis Report (Report) in accordance with § 218.11(l) (relating to registration, renewal of 

registration and license fees) and Chapter 240, Appendix A (relating to radon certification fee 

schedule) to the Board.  The Report covered the period of 2018-2021 and analyzed costs for 

three program areas: Accelerator, Radiation-Producing Machines, and Vendors/Service 

Providers; Radioactive Materials and Decommissioning; and Radon.  The Department concluded 

that fee increases are necessary for the Accelerator, Radiation-Producing Machines, and 

Vendors/Service Providers program and for the Radioactive Materials and Decommissioning 

program to ensure both program areas are fully funded. 

Accelerator, radiation-producing machines, and vendors/service providers analysis 

 Through a staff of 71 located in the Department's central and regional offices, the RPP's 

Radiation Control Division administers the radiation-producing machine registration and 

inspection program, the Mammography Quality Standards Act program, the particle accelerator 

licensing and inspection program and the vendor/service provider registration program. 

 The Radiation Control Division is responsible for the registration and inspection of over 

11,000 facilities possessing about 33,000 X-ray units.  These facilities include hospitals, clinics, 

and medical and dental offices.  Users of radiation-producing machines are required to register 

with the Radiation Control Division, indicate the number and type of units possessed and 

designate an individual responsible for radiation safety.  Users pay registration fees based on the 

type of facility and the number of X-ray units they have.  The fee amounts are listed in 

§ 218.11(a). 

 The Federal Mammography Quality Standards Act (MQSA) (42 U.S.C.A. § 263b) was signed 

into law on October 27, 1992.  The MQSA ensures that women and men receive high-quality 

mammography services for early breast cancer detection through the establishment of a Federal 

certification and inspection program.  The Statute authorizes the United States Food and Drug 

Administration (USFDA) to obtain state and local assistance in enforcing the MQSA 

requirements, including annual inspections of all certified mammography facilities.  The 

Department, under a $588,000 reimbursement contract with the USFDA, conducts inspections of 

each of this Commonwealth's more than 300 facilities which perform mammographic X-ray 

procedures.  This contract is modified most years due to the changing number of facilities.  The 

average amount is $575,000. 

 The Department requires licensing of all particle accelerators within this Commonwealth for 

industrial use, research or medical purposes.  A person who intends to purchase, construct or 

acquire an accelerator shall notify the Department of this intent by filing the appropriate 

application for a specific license within 30 days after the initial order is issued to obtain any or 

all parts of the accelerator.  Annual fees for licensed particle accelerators are listed in § 

218.11(d).  About 150 facilities have approximately 250 licensed accelerators within this 

Commonwealth. 

 The Department also administers a registration program for vendors/service providers who 

sell, lease, install or service, or both, radiation-producing machines.  Department regulations 

require that each vendor/service provider doing business within this Commonwealth must be 
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registered prior to providing these services.  To register, each vendor/service provider must 

complete a registration application and return that application with the associated fee to Bureau 

of Radiation Protection.  The registration is renewable for 12-month periods following 

submission of the applicable fee as listed in § 218.11(k). 

 In analyzing the annual costs and revenue associated with the Accelerator, Radiation-

Producing Machines, and Vendors/Service Providers RPP fee category, the Department found 

that despite substantial increases in personnel and program costs, the Chapter 218 fees, which 

support the registration of radiation-producing machines and vendors/service providers and the 

licensing of accelerators, have not been revised since 2009.  As a result, the Radiation Protection 

Fund is decreasing annually in operating reserves, and the fund balance will be negative in Fiscal 

Year (FY) 2023-2024.  Without the fee increase in this final-form rulemaking, the Department 

would be required to curtail spending for needed equipment, infrastructure upgrades, and training 

and hiring of qualified personnel. 

Radioactive materials and decommissioning analysis 

 The RPP's Radiation Control Division is also responsible for the regulation, licensing and 

inspection of radioactive material user operations and, along with the Decommissioning Section 

of the Decommissioning and Surveillance Division, is responsible for termination of radioactive 

material licenses (such as for by-product, source and special nuclear material). 

 Users of all by-product, source and special nuclear material are required to obtain a license 

from the Department prior to obtaining those radioactive materials. This material is used in 

hospitals, colleges and industries for medical, research and industrial purposes. The Department 

issues specific, general and reciprocity licenses for the use of radioactive material in this 

Commonwealth. The objective of the licensing program is to ensure radioactive material is used 

safely, disposed of properly and facilities are free from contamination when licensed operations 

are terminated. Annual license fees for radioactive material are listed in Chapter 218, Appendix 

A (relating to fees for radioactive material licenses). 

 The Decommissioning Section performs technical reviews of decontamination and 

decommissioning (D&D) activities for radioactive materials licensees and non-licensed 

radiologically contaminated sites in accordance with appropriate Commonwealth regulations.  

Typical reviews include site characterization plans, health and safety plans, decommissioning 

plans, survey reports, and the evaluation of decommissioning funding plans and financial 

assurance mechanisms.  The Decommissioning Section also performs onsite reviews and 

inspections of D&D activities for occupational, public and environmental radiation protection 

concerns.  These activities include performing confirmatory surveys and sampling to ensure the 

cleanup levels established for the site have been met.  The Decommissioning Section would also 

perform independent oversight and sampling at decommissioning nuclear power plant sites (for 

example, Three Mile Island Unit 2).  This work is performed at full cost recovery. 

 Fee collections for radioactive material licensing have been trending down since the National 

economic recession of 2008.  Universities and industries that use radioactive material have been 

consolidating or finding other operational methods that do not require a license.  Many licensees 

have opted to be licensed under a small business fee category at a lower cost, which is specified 
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in Chapter 218, Appendix A.  During this same time, actual RPP personnel costs (salaries and 

benefits) have increased approximately 14% since the last fee increase for this fee area took 

effect in 2017. 

 The Department's fiscal analysis showed that with existing reserve funds and current fees, the 

fund balance will be negative in FY 2024-2025 for the Radioactive Materials and 

Decommissioning area. 

Summary of RPP funding needs 

 Based on the findings of the Report, this final-form rulemaking is necessary to address the 

discrepancy between anticipated fees and needed revenue for the Accelerator, Radiation-

Producing Machines, and Vendors/Service Providers program area and the Radioactive Materials 

and Decommissioning program area. 

 In March 2008, then-Governor Edward Rendell signed an agreement with the Chairperson of 

the United States Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC) for the Commonwealth to become an 

Agreement State.  This allows the Department to oversee and regulate licensure of radioactive 

materials for entities in this Commonwealth. These duties are funded through the Chapter 218 

fees.  As part of the agreement, the Commonwealth committed to implementing a radiation 

protection program comparable to the NRC's program and ensured that Department regulations 

would be compatible with NRC regulations. 

 The amendments to the Chapter 218 fees for radiation-producing machines, vendors and 

accelerators are necessary to ensure adequate funding is available for the Commonwealth to 

carry out its duties under the RPA.  The amendments to the Chapter 218 fees for radioactive 

material licenses are necessary to assure adequate funding is available for the Commonwealth to 

carry out its duties under the NRC’s Agreement State program.  If the Commonwealth were 

forced to cede its authority to regulate radioactive materials back to the NRC, the regulated 

community would experience higher costs per NRC's fee regulations. 

 To ensure there is adequate funding for these program areas and for the Commonwealth to 

maintain its status as an NRC Agreement State, the Board is increasing the fees associated with 

the Accelerator, Radiation-Producing Machines, and Vendors/Service Providers program area by 

30% to provide sufficient revenue through FY 2027-2028 and the fees associated with the 

Radioactive Materials and Decommissioning program area by 10%, except for the full cost 

recovery hourly rate that is increased by 22% to $275, to ensure sufficient funding through FY 

2027-2028. 

Outreach 

 The amendments to the Chapter 218 fees for radiation-producing machines, vendors, and 

accelerators and for radioactive materials and decommissioning were reviewed with the 

Department's Radiation Protection Advisory Committee (RPAC).  RPAC represents various 

stakeholders, including radiation-producing machine registrants, radioactive materials licensees 

and radon service providers, as well as the general public.  The Department discussed the need 

for fee revisions and presented the draft proposed amendments to Chapter 218 with RPAC on 

March 3, 2022 and RPAC endorsed moving forward with the proposed rulemaking.  The 
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Department presented the draft final amendments to Chapter 218 with RPAC on December 9, 

2022 and RPAC again endorsed moving forward with this final-form rulemaking. 

E. Summary of Final-Form Rulemaking and Changes from Proposed to Final-Form Rulemaking 

§ 218.11. Registration, renewal of registration and license fees 

 In subsection (a), the annual administrative fees and annual fees per X-ray tube or radiation 

generating device for radiation-producing machines are increased by approximately 30% to 

provide adequate funding to support the oversight of X-ray machines in hospitals, dental offices, 

veterinary clinics and other facilities.  Additionally, ''Chiropractors'' have been moved out of the 

''Other'' fee category and are now added to ''Chiropractors, dentists, podiatrists, veterinarians.''  

This change was made because chiropractors' equipment is comparable with the equipment used 

by dentists, podiatrists and veterinarians. 

 In subsection (d)(1), the fee amounts for accelerators, below 50 MeV, other than for ion 

implantation are increased by 30% from $2,100 to $2,730 for the first accelerator at a facility and 

from $700 to $910 for each additional unit at the facility. 

 In subsection (d)(2), the fee amounts for accelerators used for ion implantation are increased 

from $700 to $910 and from $70 to $90 for each additional unit at the same facility. 

 In subsection (d)(3), the fee amounts associated with accelerators 50 MeV and above are 

increased by 30%.  This includes the hourly rate considered for staff time to review license 

applications and to conduct inspections being increased from $150 per hour to $195 per hour; the 

minimum annual fee being increased from $2,100 to $2,730 for the first accelerator at a facility; 

and the fee for each additional unit being increased from $700 to $910. 

 In subsection (i), the annual fee amounts for electronic brachytheraphy devices are increased 

by 30% from $1,000 to $1,300 for the first unit at a facility and from $100 to $130 for each 

additional unit at the facility. 

 In subsection (k), the annual registration fee for radiation-producing machine service providers 

is increased by 30% from $140 to $180. 

 There is no change made to this section from the proposed rulemaking to this final-form 

rulemaking. 

Chapter 218, Appendix A. Fees for radioactive material licenses 

 The Board proposed to increase the 39 different fee categories for radioactive material licenses 

by 10% based on the findings of the Report to ensure adequate funding is available for the 

Commonwealth to carry out its duties under the Agreement State program.  In this final-form 

rulemaking 38 different fee categories for radioactive material licenses are increased by 10%.  

One fee category, Category 6A—Nuclear Laundry, is being kept at the current rate of $43,200 in 

this final-form rulemaking and is not increased to $47,520 as originally proposed.  There is 

currently one licensee in this category, who submitted comments on the proposed rulemaking 

requesting this fee be decreased based on the licensee’s comparison of the Commonwealth’s fee 
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to the fees charged by other states where the licensee operates.  However, these comparison 

states have other funding streams to help cover their program costs, while the Commonwealth’s 

program is required by statute to be funded solely through the license, registration, and 

certification fees. 

 Decreasing the fee is not feasible. Regulatory oversight for this license category is different 

from other categories and requires more Department resources, such as specialized training, 

more frequent sampling, and increased financial assurance.  However, the Board has determined 

that keeping this license category at the current rate for this three-year fee review cycle is not 

expected to be detrimental to the RPP at this time, as currently there is only one nuclear laundry 

license in Pennsylvania.  During the next three-year fee review cycle, the Department will 

compile more detailed information and understanding of the complexities and uniqueness of this 

license category, which will allow the Board to assess if an additional adjustment to the nuclear 

laundry license fee category is appropriate. 

 Additionally, the full cost recovery fee, identified by the asterisk in this final-form rulemaking, 

is increased by 22% from $225 per hour to $275 per hour, which is below the NRC’s current FY 

2022 hourly rate of $290 per hour.  This hourly rate is applicable to fee categories 4A (Waste 

Storage, Processing or Disposal), 5B (Well Logging Field Flood Tracer Studies) and 14 

(Decontamination, Decommissioning, Reclamation or Site Restoration).  The fee increase is 

needed to compensate for the increase in Department staff salaries, which have risen more than 

22% since the last fee increase in 2017, as well as increases in the costs for infrastructure to 

support the radiation protection program staff.  There was only one change made to this fee 

section from the proposed rulemaking to this final-form rulemaking to keep the Category 6A—

Nuclear Laundry fee at the current rate. 

F. Summary of Comments and Responses on the Proposed Rulemaking 

 The Independent Regulatory Review Commission (IRRC) and a commentator questioned 

whether the nuclear laundry license fee should be increased.  The commentator submitted a 

comparison of nuclear laundry fees they pay in other states for this license category to explain 

why they feel an increase is not reasonable for this category.  IRRC also asked the Board to 

explain why this fee and the proposed increase is reasonable and how it complies with the 

requirement in the RPA. 

 As noted in the previous section, the Board has declined to make the proposed change to the 

nuclear laundry fee in this rulemaking and will keep the fee at its current rate.  The Board will 

use the next three-year fee review cycle to conduct further analysis.  A nuclear laundry license is 

a complex license involving numerous requirements in addition to the inspection, license 

amendment and review of reports mentioned by the commentator.  As discussed in more detail as 

follows, there are environmental monitoring requirements, financial assurance requirements, and 

special training for RPP staff to review the licenses and perform the monitoring.  In addition, 

there are infrastructure costs that must be maintained independent of the number of operational 

licenses.     

 Under license condition, a nuclear laundry is required to perform annual routine monitoring of 

the environment near and downstream of their wastewater discharge pipe into the river. This 
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monitoring includes sampling of sediment (3 times per year), plant (2 times per year), fish (2 

times per year) and clams (1 time per year) to monitor the radiological contaminants that they are 

discharging to the environment.  The radiological results of this sampling must be reviewed by 

staff with federally required, specialized training on radiological contaminants in the 

environment.  All annual data is then compiled in a final report and evaluated against public dose 

limits.  That report is also reviewed by this specially trained staff to evaluate their compliance.  

 Additionally, the RPP periodically collects or obtains split samples from the licensee to 

perform its own independent analysis.  This sampling requires specific equipment to collect and 

submit samples.  Each sample has a cost for radiological analysis. 

 By Federal regulation at 10 CFR 30.35 (relating to financial assurance and recordkeeping for 

decommissioning) incorporated by reference in § 217.131 (relating to incorporation by 

reference), a nuclear laundry is required to maintain financial assurance to ensure funds are 

available should the licensee become unable to properly maintain the site prior to termination of 

its license.  This financial assurance requires a cost specific review of what it would take for a 

third party to come in and properly clean up the facility and the surrounding environment, both 

surface and subsurface.  This cost estimation is required to be submitted at least every three 

years.  The cost estimate and associated financial assurance mechanisms require detailed review 

and approvals and require special training for the individuals who perform those reviews. 

 At a minimum, the reviews mentioned previously require at least one technical staff and one 

manager to complete the review for each submission.  The financial assurance reviews typically 

involve at least one additional staff member to make sure the review is thorough. Therefore, two 

or three RPP staff’s time is required for each of these compliance activities.   

 The RPP maintains a section of staff specifically trained for decommissioning and 

environmental monitoring.  The NRC Agreement State Program requires that this staff receive 

specialized training to be qualified to implement these decommissioning and environmental 

monitoring requirements.  Currently, the commentator’s nuclear laundry facility is the sole 

license in this Commonwealth requiring environmental monitoring—not just the only license in 

the nuclear laundry license category but the only license out of all radioactive material license 

categories.  Therefore, the commentator’s nuclear laundry facility license fee is the only funding 

source to support this specialized training. 

 There is a cost for the infrastructure that must be maintained independent of the number of 

operational licenses.  These infrastructure costs include indirect and administrative services, 

including rulemaking, maintaining guidance for licensees, and maintaining procedures for staff, 

training, and travel, the cost of information management, information technology, security, 

facilities management, rent, utilities, financial management, acquisitions, human resources and 

policy support. 

 The commentator has compared the Commonwealth’s license fees with states that are able to 

supplement their fees with other funds to administer their programs.  Section 401 of the RPA 

states that “…[t]hese fees shall be in an amount at least sufficient to cover the department's costs 

of administering the programs.”  Consequently, the Commonwealth’s RPP is funded entirely 

through its license, registration and certification fees.  
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 As noted in the funding Report for the RPP and in the Preamble to the proposed rulemaking, 

the Radiation Protection Fund balance will go into the negative in FY 2023-2024.  Therefore, the 

Department cannot afford a delay in promulgating this final-form rulemaking and decreasing the 

fee is not feasible.  However, the Board has determined that keeping this license category at the 

current rate for this three-year fee review cycle is not expected to be detrimental to the RPP at 

this time, as currently there is only one nuclear laundry license in the Commonwealth.  During 

the next three-year fee review cycle, the Department will compile more detailed information on 

this unique license category, including but not limited to, training, sampling, and staff hours, 

which will allow the Board to assess if an additional adjustment to the nuclear laundry license 

fee category is appropriate. 

 IRRC noted the full cost recovery fee for licenses in categories 4A, 5B and 14 was proposed to 

be increased by 22% but the Preamble and Regulatory Analysis Form (RAF) stated the fees in 

Chapter 218, Appendix A are increased by 10% and requested the documents be revised.  IRRC 

also asked the Board to explain why the increase was needed and reasonable.  As IRRC noted, 

the full cost recovery fee is an hourly rate charged for D&D activities performed by Department 

staff.  This fee is rarely utilized because it only applies in two situations.  One is the 

extraordinary circumstance that a non-licensee possesses radioactive material requiring D&D 

and therefore has not paid any license fee to the Department. The other case is when a licensee 

requests termination of their operating license and conversion to a decommissioning-only 

license.  In this case, the Department would only charge the hourly rate if Program staff had 

completed enough work to exceed the annual fee paid by the licensee. This allows the 

Department to recover the full cost of staff time spent on unplanned work that is not included in 

the Program’s revenue projections.  In addition to covering personnel salaries, there is a cost for 

the infrastructure that must be maintained independent of the number of operational licenses, 

which was discussed in detail previously in this section of the Preamble.  As this is an hourly 

professional rate for a license category with an unpredictable number of licensees, the fee 

increase is needed to compensate for the increase in Department staff salaries and infrastructure 

costs, which have risen more than 22% since the last fee increase in 2017.  The Preamble and 

RAF for this final-form rulemaking have been updated to provide an explanation for the fee 

increase and the correct percentage increase of 22%. 

 IRRC noted the estimates of costs to local governments and State government in questions 20 

and 21 of the RAF conflict with estimates given for question 23.  The responses to questions 20 

and 21 are correct, and the response to question 23 has been revised accordingly. 

G. Benefits, Costs and Compliance 

Benefits 

 The Chapter 218 fee increases for radioactive material licenses are necessary to ensure that 

adequate funding is available for the Commonwealth to carry out its duties under the Agreement 

State program and the RPA.  If the Commonwealth were forced to cede its authority to regulate 

radioactive materials back to the NRC, the regulated community would be subject to higher NRC 

fees.  Radioactive material controls under the Agreement State program guard against the 

potential for unnecessary public radiation exposure from the use of radioactive material 

benefitting the health of all residents in this Commonwealth. 
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 The Chapter 218 fees for registration of X-ray facilities, licensing of accelerators and 

registration of vendors have not been increased since 2009, although costs have steadily 

increased.  These fee increases are necessary to ensure oversight of radiation safety-related 

activities are not diminished and the replacement of obsolete survey equipment is not delayed, 

which would reduce the assurance that regulated activities are being conducted safely. 

 For these reasons, the Department benefits from this final-form rulemaking by having the 

needed additional revenue to cover the costs of the programs mandated by the RPA, and the 

general public will benefit from this final-form rulemaking by the continued safety with the use 

of radioactive materials, the safety of radiation-producing machines and additional quality 

assurance that will be provided. 

Compliance costs 

 The cost of compliance with the fee amendments for the Accelerator, Radiation-Producing 

Machines, and Vendors/Service Providers program area are increased by 30% to provide 

sufficient revenue through FY 2027-2028.  The cost of compliance with the fee amendments for 

the Radioactive Materials and Decommissioning program area are increased by 10% for 

licensing and 22% for the full cost recovery fee to ensure sufficient funding through FY 2027-

2028.  Considering increases in inflation since the last time these fee categories were increased 

(2009 for the Accelerator, Radiation-Producing Machines, and Vendors/Service Providers 

program area and 2017 for the Radioactive Materials and Decommissioning program area), the 

cost of compliance is increased in line with inflation rates. 

Compliance assistance plan 

 The Department will notify the regulated community of the increased fees by informing 

RPAC, issuing an Information Notice to relevant licensees and publishing notification in the 

Pennsylvania Bulletin. 

Paperwork requirements 

 This final-form rulemaking does not require additional recordkeeping or reporting 

requirements as a result of the fee increases in Chapter 218. 

H. Pollution Prevention  

 The Federal Pollution Prevention Act of 1990 (42 U.S.C.A. §§ 13101—13109) established a 

National policy that promotes pollution prevention as the preferred means for achieving state 

environmental protection goals.  The Department encourages pollution prevention, which is the 

reduction or elimination of pollution at its source, through the substitution of environmentally 

friendly materials, more efficient use of raw materials, or the incorporation of energy efficiency 

strategies.  Pollution prevention practices can provide greater environmental protection with 

greater efficiency because they can result in significant cost savings to facilities that permanently 

achieve or move beyond compliance. 

 This final-form rulemaking is designed to support the safe and effective use of licensed 

radioactive materials and radiation-producing machines to protect the health and safety of 
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residents, workers, and the environment in this Commonwealth.  By increasing fees to keep the 

Radiation Protection Fund solvent in the coming years, this final-form rulemaking ensures the 

Department’s ability to implement radiological pollution prevention. 

I. Sunset Review 

 The Board is not establishing a sunset date for this final-form rulemaking, because it is needed 

for the Department to carry out its statutory authority.  The Department will continue to closely 

monitor these regulations for their effectiveness and recommend updates to the Board as 

necessary. 

J. Regulatory Review 

 Under section 5(a) of the Regulatory Review Act (71 P.S. § 745.5(a)), on August 10, 2022, the 

Department submitted a copy of the notice of proposed rulemaking, published at 52 Pa.B. 5500 

(August 27, 2022), and a copy of a Regulatory Analysis Form to IRRC and the Chairpersons of 

the House and Senate Environmental Resources and Energy Committees for review and 

comment. 

 Under section 5(c) of the Regulatory Review Act, IRRC and the Committees were provided 

with copies of the comments received during the public comment period, as well as other 

documents when requested.  In preparing this final-form rulemaking, the Department has 

considered all comments from IRRC, the House and Senate Committees and the public. 

 Under section 5.1(j.2) of the Regulatory Review Act, on       (DATE)     , this final-form 

rulemaking was deemed approved by the House and Senate Committees.  Under section 5.1(e) of 

the Regulatory Review Act, IRRC met on         (DATE)        and approved this final-form 

rulemaking. 

K. Findings of the Board 

 The Board finds that: 

 (1)  Public notice of proposed rulemaking was given under sections 201 and 202 of the act of 

July 31, 1968 (P.L. 769, No. 240) (45 P.S. §§ 1201 and 1202), referred to as the Commonwealth 

Documents Law, and regulations promulgated thereunder at 1 Pa. Code §§ 7.1 and 7.2 (relating 

to notice of proposed rulemaking required; and adoption of regulations). 

 (2)  A public comment period was provided as required by law, and all comments were 

considered. 

 (3)  This final-form rulemaking does not enlarge the purpose of the proposed rulemaking 

published at 52 Pa.B. 5500. 

 (4)  These regulations are necessary and appropriate for administration and enforcement of the 

authorizing acts identified in section C of this order. 
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L. Order of the Board 

 The Board, acting under the authorizing statutes, orders that: 

 (a)  The regulations of the Department, 25 Pa. Code Chapter 218, are amended by amending 

§ 218.11 and Chapter 218, Appendix A to read as set forth in Annex A. 

 (b)  The Chairperson of the Board shall submit this final-form rulemaking to the Office of 

General Counsel and the Office of Attorney General for review and approval as to legality and 

form, as required by law. 

 (c)  The Chairperson of the Board shall submit this final-form rulemaking to IRRC and the 

Senate and House Environmental Resources and Energy Committees as required by the 

Regulatory Review Act (71 P.S. §§ 745.1—745.14). 

 (d)  The Chairperson of the Board shall certify this final-form rulemaking and deposit it with 

the Legislative Reference Bureau, as required by law. 

 (e)  This final-form rulemaking shall take effect 30 days after publication in the Pennsylvania 

Bulletin. 

RICHARD NEGRIN, 

Acting Chairperson 


